thai travel blog 20/4-26/4

Thursday 20th April Today we did nothing. It was a good day. We both weren’t feeling well. In the morning we went for a walk around Karon and then went to the beach. After this we decided to go to Big Buddha and the Chalong Temple so we headed back to the hotel to quickly shower and we asked a few taxis how much it would cost to do go to Bjg Buddha and the temple and all of them said 1300-1500 baht (around $60 aud) so we went and showered and I did some research and found you can hire a private driver for 1200-1500 baht for 6 hours which is a lot better value. So we booked that in for tomorrow, starting at 10am. We then decided to have some lunch which we had at the hotel and then went for a back massage. All afternoon we hung by the pool and had a few cocktails, which wasn’t good for someone who is sick. Not my smartest move.. 

The worst thing about Thailand is the heat, and not because it’s hot but because it takes so much out of you. I need a nap every 3 hours ! Obviously, I don’t but I get really sleepy. For the night we stayed in bed and watched movies. I love spending time with my baby.

Friday 21st April 

So today the plan is to be picked up at 10am, sightsee, home then maybe a Muay Thai fight. We get in the car and the driver is lovely, he is really funny and keeps. We went to a Karon Lookout, where you can see Karon, Kata and Kata Noi beach-


Then our driver said he had a surprise for us and took us to this look out- 

This man wanted a photo with us so we got a photo with him. 


We just went to Big Buddha and it was amazing. There is so many Buddha statues everywhere. We also purchased a marble title that will be used in the creation of the inside. Here are some photos- 

There was also wild monkeys !!! Here look-

But there were men with slingshots scaring them off because apparently they bite.

On the way up to Big Buddha there were baby elephants that you could feed. Abby and I are all about doing things correct and ethically, that’s why we aren’t going to Tiger Kingdom or going elephant trekking. We really did want to see and touch an elephant so we thought this was the best most ethically way is to feed one. We spent 100 baht ($4) on bananas to feed the elephant and then the lady said something to the elephant and then the elephant kissed me. Here is the photo –


It was such an awesome experience but I didn’t realise until I looked at the photos that it’s leg was tied up. I was caught up in the moment but realised after that the elephant was trained to kiss people. Which sucks. I wanted a natural experience. Bit disappointed.

We then went to Chalong temple. I’m not religious well I don’t think but seeing people pray is so special, so spiritually, breath taking. Chalong Temple was amazing. Some photos- 


We were then taking to a few different shops and lookouts.

Tonight we saw a Muay Thai fight and caught up with our contiki friends from our trip last year. It was amazing ! Seeing Maddie, Candy and their friend Diego and catching up was fantastic ! 

I could not keep my eyes off the Muay Thai fight. I honestly didn’t think I was going to enjoy it at all, but oh man I did !! It all looked so doggy where the fight was held.


Saturday 22nd April

Today we probaly slept in a little to long and we met up with our contiki friends that we hung out with last night. We hung out at a restaurant at Patong after Abby and I had relaxed on the beach for a while. After hanging out, Abby and I went to the Phuket Town Night Markets and tried some weird food again.

Sunday 23rd April 

Today we didn’t do much during the day because I still am not well, I had to have a doctor come to our hotel room and I had to have a shot. Which sucked, was terrifying and I thought I was going to died. 

Tonight we went to Phukets FantaSea. FantaSea is like a cultural theme park and they have a big show at certain times. I really had no idea what any of that above really meant but holy shit. It was weird ! I enjoyed my time, it was good.

As you walked into the area before the enters nice of the park there is a small lake which you get to feed the fish and there are statues of the Thai gods, (I think that’s what it is) is was beautiful. When we walked in there were lots of stores and side show games. Abby and I played a few side show games as we got there at 6:30pm and the show wasn’t until 9pm. Our ticket included the show, entry to the park, dinner and transfers to and from and cost us 2,200 baht ($88 aud). So we headed to dinner which was is a HUGGGEEE hall that looked like a temple. This hall had rows and rows of food for each section, and there was about 3 or 4 sections that could hold thousands of people. 

After dinner, which for me consisted of bread and plain rice because I felt soo sick, we walked out side to see people running elephant rides. This was so disappointing. I felt so sick to my stomach, I’m totally against anything like this, we both are, like I’ve stated above. This is why Abby and I haven’t gone elephant trekking or gone to tiger kingdom or anything of the sort. 

We kept walking around and saw a shop, so we went in. There were some gates and a man said welcome, the show is free. We walked in not knowing what the fuck we got ourselves into. There was animals hanging around which was cool, some cockatoos, when a Aussie man looked at us and said ‘hey, they are a long way from home.’

We kept walking and then all of a sudden there was two white tigers in a cement area. This was absolutely sickening !!! I agree with zoos to some degree, as long as they are being treated well. To see these absolutely beautiful tigers in such poor conditions was heart breaking. They obviously didn’t live in this area, this was just their, show cage I guess. They had no toys and such little situation in this area that one of them started running around in circles. You could see pee all over the cement and because the cage was painted nicely, his feet were slipping as they were just walking. I had to walk away..

The theatre was absolutely stunning, it was theme exactly like the outside. They have this rule where you have to drop off any phones or recording devices and they keep them for the show which was painful, and is why I didn’t get any photos. 
The show was amazing, there were shadow puppets, fire works, rain, acrobatics, fire, dancing, singing, you name it they probably had it. The show was about how the King and his magical elephant defected evil. It was honestly such a beautiful cultural show….. Until the animals got involved. I don’t mean an elephant, I mean 16 elephants, chickens, goats, doves and baby water buffaloes. They were all trained to do something. In the show the elephants were made to sit on their bum and bring their front legs up off the ground. They looked so uncomfortable… Truely disgusting, and I know how they train elephants..

Although it was a fantastic show, I’m not going to recommend it to anyone. For the fact that animals are used in the show.

Anyways, went back to the hotel and threw up !! I’ve honestly been so sick this whole holiday.

Monday 24th April

Today just beach, Abby being fitted for her suit, dino mini golf, and shopping. 

Tuesday 25th April

Today we did the rest of our shopping for our friends and family which is such a relief. We tried going to the beach twice and every time we try it starts to rain, rain heavily. So every time we have to run back to our hotel. Not because we are pussies, but because we have all our stuff with us, like mobiles, cash, card, our bags and we don’t need any of the stuff wet for when we leave tomorrow. So we decided just to hang out at the hotel pool because we could leave our stuff in our room because we were two steps away, we just needed our key. We hung out, played in the pool, played pool for the rest of the night.

We started packing because we leave tomorrow.

Wednesday 26th April 

Today is the day we are leaving Phuket. Our flight is 1am tomorrow so we are getting picked up at 9:30pm. 

I had a blast but I’m ready to have fresh air, not feel sick anymore and real tomato sauce. 

Abby, thank you so much for coming with me on this experience. You’re are most amazing person in my life. I don’t know where I would be without you. We are making our dreams come true. I love you so much. Now going back to hardly seeing you… I love you babe. I really do. Thank you for putting up with me being sick the whole time.

Thanks for reading guys, I hope everyone enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

